School Community Councils are forums for exchanging ideas about how to improve student achievement among the school’s stakeholders: principals, teachers, school staff, parents, students, and community members.
AHS School Community Council:
Principal David Tanuvasa
Assistant Principal Melissa Goo
Non-certified Staff: Roxane Martinez (SCC Secretary)
Teachers: Saya Shibata (SCC Vice Chair), Alyssa Bailey
Students: Lehi Keawemauhili-Viernes, Reese Judith Ventanilla
Parents: Yvette Akamu
Community: Richard Mizusawa (SCC Chair), Wayne Suzuki
If you are a parent interested in serving on the SCC, please email [email protected].
School Community Councils are forums for open discussion and problem-solving related to student achievement. Recent research suggests that when done well, this process contributes to improved school culture and a strong professional community of educators. In addition, effective decision making supports improved classroom practice and student learning. These results indicate that democratic structures like School Community Councils are integral to school and student success.
Next Meeting:
November 21, 2023 - AGENDA